How you can learn from the Wisest man in history

Isabella Grandic
8 min readSep 18, 2019

The other day I was sitting in my friend’s apartment, deeply pondering whether cereal was a soup or not. As I sincerely thought about it (for like 30 seconds), I eventually gave up. 1) Because I have better things to do and 2) I think we need Socrates for this dilemma.

Socrates was one of history’s greatest thinkers and is the father of western philosophy 👨‍👧‍👦. His way of viewing the world, even though it’s 2 400 years old is still so relevant today. In the last 2,400 years, our minds haven’t changed; Socrates has so much wisdom on how one can unlock the power of their minds.

I really want you to understand how brilliant this dude was, so I’ll only be focusing the reading on his philosophies about living a good life. “Is cereal a soup” is something we’ll talk about on another occasion. (But, trust me, Socrates could totally answer it)

You’re about to be mind-blown 🙃🚀.

Socrates’ bible = knowing the life you ought to live.

I’m now gonna share the most over-used and overstated Socrates quote *ever*. Please, philosophy nerds frowning upon my basicness, I promise I’m not just another wanna-be philosophy major looking up philosophical quotes on the internet. There’s just so much DAMN wisdom in these 32 letters.

“An unexamined life is not worth living.”

--

--

Isabella Grandic

Aspiring healthcare infrastructure designer, technologist and scientist.