Becoming Exceptional in 4 Steps

Isabella Grandic
10 min readSep 16, 2019

Today, jumped off the boat in Amsterdam, like I did most days.

Once I recovered from mild-hypothermia precisely 4.8 seconds after entering the 💦, I started thinking about my gratitude for life. I remember the moment exactly: floating atop of the water, staring right into the sun. Refreshing 😋.

In my head, I’m like: “I’m 15, and living in Amsterdam. I get to meet some of the leading people in food technology. Every day I’m learning and growing as a person. I’m on a trajectory towards impacting billions. In all my meetings, I’m the youngest person in the room. At most conferences, I’m the energetic teenager that sticks right out. I love it 😊.

This was a moment where I was so present, I enjoyed every second of its existence. I won’t get blabbering about presentism because today we’re becoming exceptional, but I’ll soon write about how you can be buddha.

After spending a few weeks in Amsterdam, working & meeting some exceptional people, I wanted to make sure I documented my learning experiences. Although according to this trusted online quiz, my spiritual animal is a chicken, when it comes to my memory-abilities, I’m a goldfish.

I’ve had so many captivating moments like my hypothermic meditation I thought it would be a shame not to share my learnings during this #adventure.

Step 1: Prioritize People

People are so key 🔑.

--

--

Isabella Grandic

Aspiring healthcare infrastructure designer, technologist and scientist.